Register Now!
Click below to choose MBLEx, NCETMB or NCETM Subscription
1 Month Access
6 Month Access
1 Year Access
1 Month Access
3 Month Access
6 Month Access
1 Year Access
1 Month Access
3 Month Access
6 Month Access
1 Year Access

100% Money Back Guarantee

100% Pass Guarantee
Terms and Guarantee

"Thanks for your website. I passed my National Massage boards with high marks and
your website helped me learn where to focus my studying...... A solid investment to anyone studying for their boards."
Portland, Oregon

Massage Exam, License and Certification Information by State

Virginia Massage Therapy Licensure and Examination Details

Massage News
NCBTMB and FSMTB have reached an Agreement. NCBTMB will no longer accept applications to utilize their Licensing exams effective November 1, 2014 for completion February 1, 2015. The MBLEx will be the sole licensing exam for the Massage Profession, this will facilitate portability and standardization for Massage Therapists.

Massage Therapy is regulated by the Virginia Board of Nursing.

Application- Fill out completely online to receive your license to practice Massage. License Verification

License Renewal Information- Renew Online -24 CE Credits/ year

Virginia Massage Schools - A list of massage schools in Virginia

To practice Massage Therapy in the state of Virginia you must have at least 500 hours from an approved massage training program and a successful completion of a Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards MBLEx examination.

To prepare for your Massage examinations, utilize Massage-Exam.com for your study resource. Our 3500+ question database will give you the advantage to review curriculum in massage application, massage assessment, pathology, body systems, anatomy, physiology, kinesiology and business standards. For your convenience, you will have access 24/7 to take as many tests as you want, or review past tests. Let Massage-Exam.Com be your study resource for all your exam preparation needs.

Page updates 5.18.16

Web Information www.dhp.virginia.gov
List of accredited schools Virginia Massage Schools
Education Requirements 500 Hrs
Title Certified Massage Therapist CMT
Type of Credential Certification
State Law Test Laws & Regulations
State Practical or Written Exam Written Exam- MBLEx
National Exam Requirement



24/ 2 years

Regulations Governing Massage Therapists (pg. 5)

Initial Cost of License $140
Require City License Check Local City & County Business Regulations
Renewal Fee $95/ 2 years
Liability ins Massage Therapy Insurance Comparison
Credentialed Practitioners 5,141


Department of Health Professions
Board of Nursing

Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive #300
Henrico, VA 23233-1463
Phone: 804-367-4515
Fax: 804-527-4455
Email: nursebd@dhp.virginia.gov


Massage Schools in Virginia


The State Council for Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) is in charge of approved schools for Massage Therapy:

Please contact SCHEV at (804) 225-2600 or via the web at www.schev.edu for more information.


NOVA- Northern Virginia Community College

4001 Wakefield Chapel Rd.

Annandale, VA 22003

Email: ncrippen@nvcc.edu

Annandale 703.878.5617

Virginia School of Massage

153 Zan Rd.

Charlottesville, VA 22901

Charlottesville 434.293.4031

Dabney's Lancaster Community College

1000 Dabney Dr.

Clifton Forge, VA 24422

Clifton Forge 540.261.1211

Northern Virginia School of Therapeutic Massage

200 Little Falls St. #303

Falls Church, VA 22046

Email: mtramonte@nvschoolofmassage.com

Falls Church 703.533.3113

Le Arai Beauty & Barber Academy

8630 J Lee Hwy

Fairfax, VA 22031

Fairfax 703.204.1166

Avi Career Training

10130 Colvin Run Rd. #A&B

Great Falls, VA 22066

Email: Education@AviCareerTraining.com

Great Falls 703.759.2200

Piedmont School of Professional Massage

1690 Bridge Rd. #200

Lake Ridge, VA 22192

Lake Ridge 703.497.4437

Miller-Motte Technical College

1011 Creekside Lane

Lynchburg, VA 24502

Lynchburg 888.419.4508

Patrick Henry Community College

645 Patriot Ave.

Martinsville, VA 24115

Martinsville 276.638.8777

SpaRelief Vocational Training

1487 Chain Bridge Rd. #200

McLean, VA 22101 info@spareliefvt.com

McLean 703.448.6088

Medical Careers Institute

1001 Omni Blvd. #200

Newport News, VA 23606

Newport News 866.708.6174


6300 Center Dr. #100

Norfolk, VA 23502

Norfolk 757.499.5447


2000 Westmoreland St. Ste. A

Richmond, VA 23230

Richmond 804.323.1020

Miller-Motte Technical College

4444 Electric Road

Roanoke, VA 24018

Roanoke 540.597.1010

Advanced Fuller School of Massage

195 Sout Rosemont Rd. #105

Virginia Beach, VA 23452

Virginia Beach 757.340.7132

Cayce/Reilly School of Massotherapy

215 67th St.

Virginia Beach, VA 23451

Email: Cayceschool@edgarcayce.org

Virginia Beach 757.457.7270

Virginia Continuing Education

24 CE Credits Biennially
Requirements & Limitations
List of Choices
Hold Current Certification by NCBTMB OR Complete 24 CE's for State Licensure Renewal
NCBTMB- Biennially
CE Catalog
All 24 CE hours for VA State may be contact or noncontact hours
Professional Ethics, Boundaries, or Communication
Required for Renewal
Ethics Bench

Body Mechanics & Self-Care

Not Limited
Self-Care Guru
Business Practices
Not Limited
Business Mastery
Adult CPR/ First Aid Instructor-Led
Minimum Allowed Direct Contact (Live)
Basic Training
Kinesiology, Anatomy, & Physiology of Human Body
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Cultural Competency & Specialized Training
Not Limited
Special Population Techniques
Pathology of the Human Body
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Self-Study: Books, DVD's, Research Materials, Related Publications, & Publishing an Article
Minimum Allowed
Research Community
Somatic Education
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Teacher Training  
Not Limited
Instructor Headquarters
Lecture or Teaching a CE Class 12
Minimum Allowed
Active Service on VA Massage Related Board, Task Force, Committee, or Attending Meetings
1 hour of CE for each Meeting/Day- At Boards discretion
Keep Record of Hours & Duties
*CE Subject Matter Must Massage Therapy Related & Providers Must be NCBTMB Approved for a Minimum of 12 CE hours
Excess Hours taken do NOT carry over to the next renewal period
No CE requirements for First Renewal
Keep Records of CE Hours
4 Years

Department of Health Professions
Board of Nursing

Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive #300
Henrico, VA 23233-1463
Phone: 804-367-4515
Fax: 804-527-4455
Email: nursebd@dhp.virginia.gov

Copyright 2007 - 2016 Massage-Exam.com - National Exams. All rights reserved