Massage Therapy License, Exam and Training Requirements for Georgia

Georgia MBLEX Massage Exam and Certification Information

MBLEx Product

Online MBLEx Test Prep

Passing the MBLEx exam is the biggest hurdle to becoming a Licensed Massage Therapist.

Proper exam preparation is the KEY to your success and provides the most thorough test prep in the massage education industry with over 3000 question, answers, and rationales.

Online MBLEx Test Prep

More Details

Georgia Board of Massage Therapy - Information on licensing, reciprocity, laws, regulations, and FAQs.

Georgia Massage Therapy License Application Online - Or Download, print, and fill this application out to apply for a Georgia Massage Therapy License. Criminal Background Check is also required. Check the status of your application.

License Renewal Information - Renew Online - 24 CE's/ 2 years

Georgia Massage Schools - A list of massage schools in Georgia. Recognized Programs.

To practice massage therapy in the state of Georgia, you need a Georgia Massage Therapy License. This license can be obtained by filling out the necessary documents and completing the required schooling and testing requirements.

All applicants for a massage therapy license in Georgia must have completed an approved massage course or educational program of at least 500 hours of clinical massage training. The massage license applicant must also have taken and passed the MBLEx. Proof of completion (the original) must be sent directly to the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy to be processed with your state massage license application.

If you have not yet taken the MBLEx you will find the massage practice exams that we provide on our site very useful. You can access the massage exams online twenty-four hours a day and study from our database of over 3500 massage based questions. Gain the knowledge and confidence needed from our study materials to pass the MBLEx on the first attempt.

Read the Details about the MBLEx so you are informed.

Web Information
List of schools Recognized Schools
Education Requirements 500 Hrs
Title Massage Therapist MT
Type of Credential License
State Law Test Laws, Rules & Regulations
State Practical or Written Exam Written -MBLEx
National Exam Requirement MBLEx
CEU's 24/ 2 years -CE Broker
Initial Cost of License $125
Require City License Check Local City & County Business Regulations
Renewal Fee $75/ 2 years October 31st of every EVEN year
Liability ins Massage Therapy Insurance Comparison
Credentialed Practitioners 5,313

Georgia Board of Massage Therapy
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, GA 31217
Phone: 478.207.2440
Fax: 866.888.7124

Massage Schools in Georgia


Albany Therapeutic Massage Program

1534 Dawson Rd.

Albany, GA 31707

Albany 229.435.9008

Atlanta School of Massage

2 Dunwoody Park

Atlanta, GA 30338


International School of Skin and Nailcare

5600 Roswell Road NE

Prado Shopping Center

Atlanta, GA 30342

Atlanta 877.843.1005

Virginia College

5601 Veterans Prkwy

Columbus, GA 31904

Columbus 205.329.7913

Georgia Career Institute

1820 GA Hwy 20

Conyers, GA 30013

Conyers 770.922.7653

Augusta School of Massage

608 Ponder Place Drive

Evans, GA 30809


Woodruff Medical Training and Testing

675 E.E. Butler Prkwy., #K

Gainesville, GA 30501


Touch for Healing: School of Reiki Massage

1645 Talking Rock Road

Jasper, GA 30143

Jasper 706.692.0255

Gwinnett College

4230 Lawrenceville Hwy #11

Lilburn, GA 30047



Georgia Northwest Technical College

1 Maurice Culberson Drive

Rome, GA 30161

Rome 706.291.6434

Virginia College

14045 Abercorn St. #1503

Savannah, GA 31419

Savannah 912.721.5600

Georgia Massage School

415 Horizon Dr. Bldg #200 Ste #275

Suwanee, GA 30024

Suwanee 678.482.1100

Southern Regional Technical College

15689 US Highway 19 North

Thomasville, GA 31792

Thomasville 888.205.3449

Georgia Continuing Education

24 CE Credits Biennially
Requirements & Limitations
List of Choices
Renew on October 31st every Even year
All 24 hours must be recorded on CE Brokers Free Basic Limited Access Account
Direct Contact (Live) Georgia Board Approved
Required for Renewal
Remaining 12 hours may be contact or noncontact hours
Professional Ethics, Boundaries, or Communication
Not Limited
Ethics Bench

Body Mechanics & Self-Care

Not Limited
Self-Care Guru
Business Practices
Not Limited
Business Mastery
Adult CPR/ First Aid Instructor-Led
Direct Contact (Live) or Online
Basic Training
Kinesiology, Anatomy, & Physiology of Human Body
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Cultural Competency & Specialized Training
Not Limited
Special Population Techniques
Pathology of the Human Body
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Self-Study: Books, DVD's, Research Materials, Related Publications, & Publishing an Article
Not Limited
Research Community
Somatic Education
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Teacher Training  
Not Limited
Instructor Headquarters
Lecture or Teaching a CE Class
Not Limited
Active Service on GA Massage Related Board, Task Force, or Committee, or Attending Meetings
1 hour of CE for each Meeting/Day
Keep Record of Hours & Duties
*CE Providers Must be NCBTMB Approved
Excess Hours taken will NOT carry over to the next renewal period- Obtain CE's between biennial even years November 1st to October 31st (2016 to 2018)
No CE requirements for First Renewal
Keep Records of CE Hours

5 Years- Audit Selected at Random Annually- If Selected, Hard Copies of Certification must be sent into the GA Board

Must Maintain CE Documentation on CE Broker

Georgia Board of Massage Therapy
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, GA 31217
Phone: 478.207.2440
Fax: 866.888.7124

* Board Approved Providers

  • National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB)
  • Course offered by Board Approved Massage School
  • Course approved Florida list on