Montana Massage Therapy Licensing

Montana MBLEX Massage Exam and Certification Information

MBLEx Product

Online MBLEx Test Prep

Passing the MBLEx exam is the biggest hurdle to becoming a Licensed Massage Therapist.

Proper exam preparation is the KEY to your success and provides the most thorough test prep in the massage education industry with over 3000 question, answers, and rationales.

Online MBLEx Test Prep

More Details

Montana Board of Massage Therapy- Regulated by the Department of Labor and Industry Business Standards

The legislature started the statewide licensure procedures in 2005.

** Update for Montana Regulations **

Grandfather Clause July 1st 2010- Ended July 1, 2012= 100 hrs for license

New Regulations After July 1 2012= 500 hrs for license

Proof of 500 hours and Passing score on the MBLEx. Apply Online

You must hold a current valid License in another state with similar requirements. Contact the Board to verify reciprocity. FAQs

Go online and renew $90- 12 CE/ 2 years Continuing Education Requirements. Renew Annually July1st- August 31st

Montana Massage Schools - A list of massage schools in Montana

Throughout the United States, with or without state licensing regulations, a minimum of 500 hours or more from an approved curriculum is required with a passing score from the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB). Within the state of Montana, you may work as a Massage Therapist when you have successfully graduated from an accredited school of massage. The Montana Board now accepts the MBLEx. is beneficial to the graduating students in Montana, both as a study resource for their final exams and preparation for the Licensing Exams. Our website has over 3500 multiple-choice questions in anatomy/physiology, kinesiology, body systems, massage assessment, massage application, pathology, business ethics, and standards.’s program also gives you the ability to look over your scores and previous tests to recognize the areas needing greater improvement or additional study. Get prepared and feel confident that you have done all in your power to obtain your goal in becoming a Massage Therapist by utilizing our study resource.

Web Information
Education Requirements 500 Hours
Title Licensed Massage Therapist LMT
Type of Credential License
State Law Test Statutes, Rules & Regulations
State Practical or Written Exam Written- MBLEx
National Exam Requirement


CEU's 12 CE/ 2 years
Initial Cost of License

Grandfather $130- ended July 1st 2012

Endorsment/ Examination $140

Require City License Check Local City & County Business Regulations
Renewal Fee $90
Liability ins Massage Therapy Insurance Comparison
Credentialed Massage Practitioners  


Montana Board of Massage Therapy

PO Box 200513

301 South Park (4th Floor)

Helena, MT 59620-0513

Phone: 406.841.2300 (Licensing) or 2329

Fax: 406.841.2305


Contact the Board

Massage Schools in Montana



Health Works Institute

111 S. Grand Ave. Annex 3

Bozeman, MT 59715

Bozeman 406.582.1555

Massage Training Institute

1500 Airport Road

Kalispell, MT 59901


Kalispell 406.250.9616

Montana School of Massage

1629 South Ave. West

Missouls, MT 59801


Missoula 406.549.9244

Montana Continuing Education

12 CE Credits Biennially
Requirements & Limitations
List of Choices
Renew on February 1st every Even year
12 CE hours may be contact or noncontact hours
Professional Ethics, Boundaries, or Communication
Not Limited
Ethics Bench

Body Mechanics & Self-Care

Not Limited
Self-Care Guru
Business Practices
Not Limited
Business Mastery
Adult CPR/ First Aid Instructor-Led
Direct Contact (Live) with certification
Basic Training
Kinesiology, Anatomy, & Physiology of Human Body
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Cultural Competency & Specialized Training
Not Limited
Special Population Techniques
Pathology of the Human Body
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Self-Study: Books, DVD's, Research Materials, Related Publications, & Publishing an Article
Not Limited- Credits approved by Board- Documentation and Notes
Research Community
Somatic Education
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Teacher Training  
Not listed as an accepted CE
Instructor Headquarters
Lecture or Teaching a CE Class
1 hour= 1 CE- First time only- Keep documentation
Active Service on MT Massage Related Board, Task Force, Committee, or Attending Meetings
1 hour of CE for each hour
Keep Record of Hours & Duties
*CE Subject Matter Must be Massage Therapy Related
Excess Hours taken will NOT carry over to the next renewal period- Retake CE's are not counted
No CE requirements for First full year- Must have 6 CE credit hours to report for 1st time renewal of license obtained with less then 2 full years
Keep Records of CE Hours
5 Years- Audit Selected at Random Annually

Montana Board of Massage Therapy

PO Box 200513

301 South Park (4th Floor)

Helena, MT 59620-0513

Phone: 406.841.2300 (Licensing) or 2329

Fax: 406.841.2305



* Massage Therapy Related

  • National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB)
  • Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB)
  • Course Providers are Not Approved by Montana Board