North Carolina Massage Therapy License Exam, Regulations and Requirements

North Carolina MBLEX Massage Exam and Certification Information

MBLEx Product

Online MBLEx Test Prep

Passing the MBLEx exam is the biggest hurdle to becoming a Licensed Massage Therapist.

Proper exam preparation is the KEY to your success and provides the most thorough test prep in the massage education industry with over 3000 question, answers, and rationales.

Online MBLEx Test Prep

More Details

North Carolina Board of Massage & Bodywork Therapy- is the regulatory Board for healthcare practitioners in Massage and Bodywork. FAQ

Application request form- Send in this request along with $20 money order to the Board to receive the application packet for a Massage Therapy License practicing in North Carolina. Online Application request form

License Application Instructions- A detailed packet giving you all the information regarding your application process. Jurisprudence Exam information.

Renewal Information- Application & Instructions - 24 CE's/ 2 years

Check the Status of your Application

North Carolina Massage Schools - A list of Board Approved massage schools in North Carolina

North Carolina Board for Massage and Bodywork must receive a written request before they will send out the official application. There is a minimum requirement of 500 hours at a Board-Approved school, along with a passing score from the MBLEx.

To properly prepare for your new career in Massage, review for the end of the term tests, and study for the licensing Exam, we urge you to subscribe today at Massage-Exam.Com. We have over 3,500 multiple-choice questions in massage application/assessment, pathology, body systems, business standards, kinesiology, and anatomy and physiology. You have access to your scores and the ability to take new tests 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Each question comes with a rationale to provide easily attained study information, at your fingertips.

Web Information
List of approved schools Board Approved
Education Requirements 500 Hrs
Title Licensed Massage & Bodywork Therapist LMBT
Type of Credential License
National Exam Requirement


CEU's 24/ 2 years
Initial Cost of License

$190 (plus $20 application request fee)

(includes $40 Criminal History Report fee)

Require City License Check Local City & County Business Regulations
Renewal Fee $100/ 2 years
Liability ins Massage Therapy Insurance Comparison
Credentialed Practitioners 6,181

North Carolina Board of Massage & Bodywork Therapy
PO Box 2539
Raleigh, NC 27602

Physical Location
Wachovia Capital Center Building
150 Fayetteville St. Mall, # 1900
Raleigh, North Carolina 27601
Phone: 919-546-0050
Fax: 919-833-1059


Modalities in NC that require a License

NCBMBT List of Civil Penalties

Massage Schools in North Carolina



Ashville School of Massage and Yoga

77 Walnut St.

Ashville, NC 28801

Ashville 828.252.7377

Center for Massage & Natural Health's

530 Upper Flat Creek Rd.

Ashville, NC 28787




Miller-Motte College

2205 Walnut St.

Cary, NC 27518

Cary 866.297.0267

Blue Ridge Healing Arts - CE's

9 Union St. North #300

Concord, NC 28027


Concord 704.795.7478

North Carolina School of Advanced Bodywork

1327 Charlotte Hwy.

Fairview, NC 28730

Fairview 828.628.3007

American & European Massage Clinic

4322 Bland Road

Raleigh, NC 27609


Raleigh 919.790.9750

ECPI University

4101 Doie Cope Rd.

Raleigh, NC 27613

Raleigh 919.571.0057

The Healing Arts and Massage School

2113 Cameron St. Bryan Bldg. #233A,B

Raleigh, NC 27605

Raleigh 919.821.1444

The Medical Arts School

6541 Meridien Drive #113

Raleigh, NC 27616

Raleigh 919.872.6386

Miller-Motte College

5000 Market St.

Wilmington, NC 28405

Wilmington 910.392.4660

North Carolina Continuing Education

24 CE Credits Biennially
Requirements & Limitations
List of Choices
Renew on November 1st every 2 years from State Approval Anniversary Date
Direct Contact (Live) North Carolina Board Approved
Required for Renewal
Remaining 12 hours may be contact or noncontact hours
Professional Ethics, Boundaries, or Communication
Required for Renewal
Ethics Bench

Body Mechanics & Self-Care

Not Limited
Self-Care Guru
Business Practices
Minimum Allowed
Business Mastery
Adult CPR/ First Aid HIV/AIDs, & Hepatitis Instructor-Led
Direct Contact (Live) or Online
Basic Training
Kinesiology, Anatomy, & Physiology of Human Body
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Cultural Competency & Specialized Training
Not Limited
Special Population Techniques
Pathology of the Human Body
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Self-Study: Books, DVD's, Research Materials, Related Publications, & Publishing an Article
Not Limited
Research Community
Somatic Education
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Teacher Training  
Not Limited
Instructor Headquarters
Lecture or Teaching a CE Class
Not Limited
Active Service on NC Massage Related Board, Task Force, Committee, or Attending Meetings
1 hour of CE for each hour- At Board's Discretion
Keep Record of Hours & Duties
*CE Providers Must be NCBTMB, NCCAOM Approved or An Accredited College or University
Excess Hours taken do NOT carry over to the next renewal period
24 CE requirements for First Biennial Renewal- Less then 2 years & more then 1 year= 12 CE including 3 CE Ethics, 6 CE's Contact & 6 CE's Noncontact or Contact
Keep Records of CE Hours
5 Years- Audit Selected at Random Annually- Must submit copies and List CE's on Renewal form

North Carolina Board of Massage & Bodywork Therapy
PO Box 2539
Raleigh, NC 27602

Physical Location
Wachovia Capital Center Building
150 Fayetteville St. Mall, # 1900
Raleigh, North Carolina 27601
Phone: 919-546-0050
Fax: 919-833-1059

* Board Approved Providers

  • National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB)
  • National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM)
  • Institution of higher learning, University system, or International Postsecondary Programs
    • Allowed- Anatomy, Physiology, Pathology, Psychology, Pharmacology, Business Management, or Massage & Bodywork Therapy
  • Course Approval Not Required by North Carolina Board


Modalities in NC that require a Massage & Bodywork License

Animal Massage Not accepted as CE Credits

NCBMBT List of Civil Penalties