South Dakota Massage Licensing Requirements and Examination

South Dakota MBLEX Massage Exam and Certification Information

MBLEx Product

Online MBLEx Test Prep

Passing the MBLEx exam is the biggest hurdle to becoming a Licensed Massage Therapist.

Proper exam preparation is the KEY to your success and provides the most thorough test prep in the massage education industry with over 3000 question, answers, and rationales.

Online MBLEx Test Prep

More Details

South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy- The regulatory Board information, rules, and laws.

Application- Completely fill out and notarize before sending in the application for a Massage Therapy license. FAQ

License Renewal Information- 8 CE Credits/ 2 years

South Dakota Massage Schools - A list of massage schools in South Dakota

In the past, 100 hours was enough to get you a job as a massage therapist in the state of South Dakota. However, grandfathering laws are now in place so people who are already massage therapists can carry a license if they have performed competently in a job for three years. The new requirements are the basic 500 hours of massage curriculum and the passing of one of these accepted exams: The NBCA administered by the AMMA or the MBLEx by the FSMTB. To be in compliance, anyone wishing to be a Licensed Massage Therapist after 2005 must have the minimum 500 hours at an approved Massage training establishment, passing score on chosen exam, and Liability Insurance.

Massage-Exam.Com can help with your exam study needs. Our study resource has a base of over 3500 questions in specific categories such as massage assessment, massage application, business ethics, pathologies, kinesiology, body systems, anatomy and physiology. Build your confidence in taking multiple-choice questions in each category or take a mix of questions in the random category. Each graded question is accompanied by a rationale that explains the information in the question and answer for added benefits in reviewing your core work material. You're not limited to taking only one test like in the bound and printed review books. You can utilize our site night and day and take as many tests as you would like, having the option of opening past tests and perusing questions you may have missed. Sign up and test your knowledge today.

Web Information
List of schools South Dakota Massage Schools
Education Requirements 500 Hrs
Title Massage Therapist MT
Type of Credential License
State Law Test Laws, Rules, Statute & Regulations
State Practical or Written Exam Written-NBCA and MBLEx
National Exam Requirement


CEU's 8/ 2 years
Initial Cost of License $120
Require City License Check Local City & County Business Regulations
Renewal Fee $65/year
Liability ins Massage Therapy Insurance Comparison @ least 250,000 Liability
Credentialed Practitioners 730

South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy - Contact
PO BOX 340 (mailing)

1351 North Harrison Ave
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: 605-224-1721
Fax: 888-425-3032


Massage Schools in South Dakota


National Accreditation Accepted By:
Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation (COMTA)
Accrediting Council for Independent
Colleges and Schools (ACICS)
National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts & Sciences (NACCAS)
Accrediting Council for Continuing Education and Training (ACCET)
Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC)
Accrediting Commission of the Distance Education and Training Council (DETC)
Higher Learning Commission (HLC)


Spring Bath House School of Massage

1111 S. Miller Ave.
Mitchell, SD 57301

Mitchell 605.999.0064

Black Hills Beauty College

623 St. Joseph St.

Rapid City, SD 57701


Rapid City 605.342.0697

South Dakota School of Massage Therapy

902 West 22nd St.

Sioux Falls, SD 57105


Sioux Falls 605.334.4422

Stewart School

604 N. West Ave

Sioux Falls, SD 57104


Sioux Falls 605.336.2775

South Dakota Continuing Education

8 CE Credits Biennially
Requirements & Limitations
List of Choices
Renew on September 30th every Even year
All 8 CE hours may be contact or noncontact hours
Professional Ethics, Boundaries, or Communication
Not Limited
Ethics Bench

Body Mechanics & Self-Care

Not Limited
Self-Care Guru
Business Practices
Not Limited
Business Mastery
Adult CPR/ First Aid Instructor-Led
Direct Contact (Live)- Or Online
Basic Training
Kinesiology, Anatomy, & Physiology of Human Body
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Cultural Competency & Specialized Training
Not Limited
Special Population Techniques
Pathology of the Human Body
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Self-Study: Books, DVD's, Research Materials, Related Publications, & Publishing an Article
Not Limited
Research Community
Somatic Education
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Teacher Training  
Not Limited
Instructor Headquarters
Lecture or Teaching a CE Class
Not Limited
Active Service on SD Massage Related Board, Task Force, Committee, or Attending Meetings
1 hour of CE for each Meeting/Day/Hour- At Boards discretion
Keep Record of Hours & Duties
*CE Providers Must be Board Approved by NCBTMB or American Medical Massage Association
Excess Hours taken do NOT carry over to the next renewal period
All 8 CE's are required for the First Renewal- CE Hours are Prorated based on Initial Licensure Date
Keep Records of CE Hours
5 Years- Audit Selected at Random Annually- Must list CE's on Renewal Form

South Dakota Board of Massage Therapy - Contact
PO BOX 340 (mailing)

1351 North Harrison Ave
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: 605-224-1721
Fax: 888-425-3032

*Board Approved Providers