Tennessee Massage Therapy Licensure Requirements and Exam Details

Tennessee MBLEX Massage Exam and Certification Information

MBLEx Product

Online MBLEx Test Prep

Passing the MBLEx exam is the biggest hurdle to becoming a Licensed Massage Therapist.

Proper exam preparation is the KEY to your success and Massage-Exam.com provides the most thorough test prep in the massage education industry with over 3000 question, answers, and rationales.

Online MBLEx Test Prep

More Details

Tennessee Board of Massage Licensure- regulated by the Department of Health.

Application for a Massage Therapist License- Complete and send in after having it notarized along with the non-refundable application fee. Massage Licensure Act of 1995

License Renewal- Renew or update personal information online. Renew Online -25 CE Credits/ 2 years

Tennessee Massage Schools - A list of massage schools in Tennessee.

To practice Massage Therapy in the State of Tennessee, the Board of Massage Licensure has set up proper guidelines to help with the process. A minimum of 500 hours from an approved school is essential. You must take and pass the FSMTB's MBLEx to be licensed.

** The Tennessee Board has granted a petition to make the MBLEx exclusive **

For a comprehensive review of massage application, assessment, pathology, kinesiology, body systems, anatomy, physiology and business ethics, utilize Massage-Exam.Com. With over 3500 questions to review, with the ability to track your test scores in each category, and gain information on subjects that may need more review time. You also have the flexibility of 24-hour access, for your subscribed amount of time, to take as many tests as you like. Consider using our site as your study resource in preparing for your massage exams.

TN DOH September 6th 2012 New Rules in Effect

- Background checks required

- Jurisprudence Questionnaire (pg. 13 In application)

-Laws, Rules Policies & Regulations

Web Information www.tennessee.gov/health
List of schools Educational Programs
Education Requirements 500 Hrs
Title Massage Therapist
Type of Credential License
State Law Test Laws, Rules Policies & Regulations
State Practical or Written Exam Written Exam
National Exam Requirement MBLEx
CEU's 25 CE's/ 2 years
Initial Cost of License $280-+ Criminal Background Check
Require City License Check Local City & County Business Regulations
Renewal Fee $195/ 2 years
Liability ins Massage Therapy Insurance Comparison
Credentialed Practitioners 4,311

Tennessee Board of Massage

665 Mainstream Drive, 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone:(615)253-2111 or 1-800-778-4123
Fax: 615-532-5164

Email: tn.health@tn.gov


Massage Schools in Tennessee



Cumberland Institute

500 Wilson Pike Circle #121

Brentwood, TN 37027

Email: mary@cumberlandinstitute.com

Brentwood 615.370.9794

Miller-Motte Technical Institute

6020 Shallowford Rd.

Chattanooga, TN 37421

Email: jkearns@miller-motte.com

Chattanooga 423.510.9675

Miller-Motte Technical College

1820 Business Park Dr.

Clarksville, TN 37040

Email: gcastleberry@miller-motte.com

Clarksville 931.553.0071

Appalachin Training Center for Healing Arts

117 West Hwy 25-70

Dandridge, TN 37725

Email: atchaschool@massagetherapy.com

Dandridge 865.397.5227
Chattanooga Massage Institute Inc.
6401 Hixson Pike, Suite E
Hixson, TN 37343
E-mail: chattmassage@bellsouth.net
Hixson 423.847.1417
Bodyworks School of Massage, Inc.
2752 B North Highland Avenue
Jackson, TN 38305
E-mail: bodyworksmassage@cs.com
Jackson 731.664.8704

Reflections of Health School of Massage

1604 Lamons Lane #207A

Johnson City, TN 37604

Johnson City 423.929.3331

Arbor Institute School of Massage

6500 Papermill Dr. #214

Knoxville, TN 37919

Email: info@AIM-Knoxville.com

Knoxville 865.450.3330

Tennessee School of Therapeutic Massage

4702-B Western Ave.

Knoxville, TN 37921

Email: teachers@tennesseeschoolofmassage.com

Knoxville 865.588.2324

Miller-Motte Technical Institute- Nashville

1515 Gallatin Pike North

Madison, TN 37115

Madison 866.297.0267

Concord Career College

5100 Poplar Ave. #132

Memphis, TN 38137

Email: tstewart@concorde.edu

Memphis 901.761.9494

Massage Institute of Memphis

2076 Union Ave. #202

Memphis, TN 38104

Email: info@themassageinstitute.com

Memphis 901.726.4665
Tennessee School of Massage
1083 West Rex Road, Suite 202
Memphis, TN 38119
E-mail: info@tsom.net
Memphis 901.843.2706
Mind Body Institute, LLC
2416 Music Valley Drive, Suite 119
Nashville, TN 37214
E-mail: mindybody@comcast.net
Nashville 615.360.8554

Roane State Community College

701 Briarcliff Ave.

Oak Ridge, TN 37830

Email: keefepk@roanestate.edu

Oak Ridge 865.481.2001

Tennessee Continuing Education

25 CE Credits Biennially
Requirements & Limitations
List of Choices
Renew on December 31st every Even year
All 25 hours may be contact or noncontact hours
Professional Ethics, Boundaries, Substance Abuse, or Communication
Required for Renewal
Ethics Bench
Business/ Massage Practices Management
Required for Renewal- Part of Ethics requirement of 2 CE's
Business Mastery
Tennessee & Federal Statutes and Rules 2 Required for Renewal -Must be TN Board Approved Ethics Bench

Body Mechanics & Self-Care

Not Limited
Self-Care Guru
Adult CPR/ First Aid / HIV Instructor-Led

Direct Contact (Live) - American Heart Association or American Red Cross

Basic Training
Kinesiology, Anatomy, & Physiology of Human Body
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Cultural Competency & Specialized Training
Not Limited
Special Population Techniques
Pathology of the Human Body
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Self-Study: Books, DVD's, Research Materials, Related Publications, & Publishing an Article
Not Limited
Research Community
Somatic Education
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Teacher Training  
Not Limited
Instructor Headquarters
Lecture or Teaching a CE Class
Not Limited
Active Service on TN Massage Related Board, Task Force, Committee, or Attending Meetings
1 hour of CE for each Meeting/Day/Hour- At Boards discretion
Keep Record of Hours & Duties
*CE Providers Must be NCBTMB or Board Approved
Excess Hours taken do NOT carry over to the next renewal period
All 25 CE's are required for the First Annual Renewal- CE Hours are Prorated based on Initial Licensure Date & must include Ethics, Massage Practice (2), & TN Law (2) hour CE requirement
Keep Records of CE Hours
4 Years- Audit Selected at Random Annually

Tennessee Board of Massage

Heritage Place Metro Center
227 French Landing, #300
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: 615-532-3202 or 1-800-778-4123, ext. #32111
Fax: 615-532-5164

Email: tn.health@tn.gov

*Board Approved Providers