NCBTMB and FSMTB have reached an Agreement. NCBTMB will no longer accept applications to utilize their Licensing exams effective November 1, 2014 for completion February 1, 2015. The MBLEx will be the sole licensing exam for the Massage Profession, this will facilitate portability and standardization for Massage Therapists.
The State of Maryland Massage Therapy Advisory Committee- Regulatory body under the Board of Chiropractic Examiners for Massage therapists.
Fill out this application for Massage Therapy Certification & Registration- in order to become eligible to practice Massage in the state of Maryland.
Verify your License Online
Maryland Massage Schools - A list of massage schools in Maryland
Maryland has two types of Massage therapists. The first is an LMT or Licensed Massage Therapist and the second is an RMP Registered Massage Practitioner. An LMT and RMP are required to obtain 500 accredited hours at an approved establishment regulated by the Maryland State Massage Therapy Advisory Committee. In addition to their 500 hours, a CMT must also attend 60 hours of college courses. Having this distinction allows the CMT to practice in health care facilities such as nursing homes, clinics, doctors’ offices, and hospitals. An RMT only has the right to practice under a private business, health club, or spa.
Both a CMT and RMT are also required to pass one of the MBLEx.
The MBLEx is designed to provide a standard examination for students of Massage for entry-level professional scope of practice in gaining licensure. The FSMTB was established in 2005 with the intent to build a support system for the Member Boards.
The state of Maryland has a mandatory Jurisprudence examination given by the council on the Massage Therapy Advisory Committee under the direction of Maryland’s Board of Chiropractic Examiners. Before you are eligible to take the jurisprudence exam, you must show proof of passing the MBLEx. The Jurisprudence Exam is to be completed in one hour and a half, containing 55 multiple-choice questions on Maryland state laws and regulations for Massage Therapists along with continuing education requirements and code of ethics in doing business professionally. You must pass this examination with a 75% or better to obtain approval to practice Massage Therapy in Maryland. To find this material, visit the Maryland Massage Therapy Advisory Committee’s How To Search Maryland Statues and Regulations page.
To help you practice for your massage exams and strengthen your confidence level, we advise you to utilize our site. Massage-Exam.com provides over 3000+ multiple-choice questions containing all the categories covered in the Massage National Examinations. With the capability to view each corrected exam taken with the rationale included at any time for your review. Watch your overall scores improve as you utilize our site for the desired one month or three months, it's up to you. We are always happy to help our subscribers with anything we can. Take a few minutes to peruse our site and sign up today.
Jurisprudence Information and Application - Fee for JP exam is $100. However, after you have sent in the application for licensure, and have taken the Jurisprudence exam it is another $200 to obtain your License or Registration in order to practice Massage. Study Guide for JP exam: Code of Regulations for MD Massage
Maryland State Massage Board Newsletters & FAQs
New Regulation Changes - Criminal Background check- Open Meeting July 10th 9am
Continuing Education Requirements- Changes applied to 2014 LMT Renewal
Page updates 1.19.15