Arkansas Massage Therapist Certification and Licensing Information

Arkansas MBLEX Massage Exam and Certification Information

MBLEx Product

Online MBLEx Test Prep

Passing the MBLEx exam is the biggest hurdle to becoming a Licensed Massage Therapist.

Proper exam preparation is the KEY to your success and provides the most thorough test prep in the massage education industry with over 3000 question, answers, and rationales.

Online MBLEx Test Prep

More Details

Massage News

Arkansas State Board of Massage Therapy - Detailed information on the state massage board.

** Legislative Alert for Arkansas ** FAQ - 2010 Adopted Rules & Regulations

Application Form for Arkansas Massage Therapists - Download and fill out this application. Application Instructions

License Renewal Information- Renew PDF -18 CE Credits/ 2 years

Arkansas Massage Schools - A State Board list of Arkansas Massage Schools

The state of Arkansas requires that a massage therapist be licensed and certified. Applicants for a massage therapist license must now pass the MBLEx which has replaced the NCETMB. The MBLEx should better measure the qualifications of the massage therapist in pursuit of licensure. In addition, you must take and pass the Arkansas Law Exam.

If you are still in massage school or have just completed your course, you will benefit greatly from our MBLEx Practice Exams. Study online with over 3500 massage questions ranging from massage laws and ethics to massage assessment and pathology. Each massage exam comes complete with rationales for every question so you learn from your answers, whether they are correct or incorrect.

Page update 7.10.17

Web Information
List of schools
Education Requirements
500 in-class hrs
Massage Therapist MT, License Master Massage Therapist MMT, Instructor
Type of Credential
State Law Test
State Practical or Written Exam
Law exam and MBLEx
National Exam Requirement
Initial Cost of License
Require City License
Check Local City and County Business Regulations
Renewal Fee
$30/year for Massage Therapist MT, $40/year for License Master Massage Therapist MMT and $45/year for Instructors
Liability ins
Credentialed Practitioners

Arkansas State Board of Massage Therapy
PO BOX 2019

101 East Capitol Ave., Suite 206

Little Rock, AR 72203
Phone: 501-683.1448

Fax: 501-683.1426

Massage Schools in Arkansas


Body Wellness Massage Academy

1212 Military Rd Suite D

Benton, AR 72015



Healing Therapy and Education LLC

690 Tate Street

Camden, AR 71701


Camden 870.231.9515

Northwest Arkansas School of Massage

3-A Dogwood Ridge

Eureka Spings, AR 72632


Eureka Springs 479.366.3583

Arkansas Institute of Massage

2120 South Waldron Rd. Suite 306C

Fort Smith, AR 72903


Fort Smith

Arkansas School of Massage

6108 South 31st Street

Fort Smith, AR 72908


Fort Smith 479.648.0021

AR Therapeutic Massage Institute and Spa

853 Third Street

Hot springs, AR 71902

Hot Springs

Radiance School of Massage

3810 Central Ave. Suite E

Hot Springs, AR 71913

Hot Springs

Arkansas College of Massage Therapy

1000 South Caraway Road # 112B

Jonesboro, AR 72402



Northeast Arkansas School of Massage

2702 South Culberhouse Suite M

Jonesboro, AR 72401



Body Wellness Massage Academy

2417 Ferncliff

Little Rock, AR 72223

Little Rock

Touching America School of Massage

600 Pine Forest Drive Suite 120

Maumelle, AR 72113



Massage Works School of Massage

201 West Jefferson St. #A

PO Box 1033

Mountain View, AR 72560


Mountain View

River Valley School of Massage

2003 East Parkway Drive

Russellville, AR 72802



Life's Work School of Massage

210 South Thompson Street # 4-A

Springdale, AR 72764


Touch for Health

502 East 24th St.

Texarkana, AR 71854



Arkansas Continuing Education

18 CE Credits Biennially
Requirements & Limitations
List of Choices
Renew on Birth Date every other year
Direct Contact (Live) Arkansas Board Approved
Required for Renewal
Remaining 6 hours may be noncontact hours or Home Study and Online Courses
Professional Ethics, Boundaries, or Communication
Not Limited
Ethics Bench

Body Mechanics & Self-Care

Not Limited
Self-Care Guru
Business Practices
Not Limited
Business Mastery
Adult CPR/ First Aid Instructor-Led
Direct Contact (Live)
or Online
Basic Training
Kinesiology, Anatomy, & Physiology of Human Body
Above the 500 hour curriculum
Advanced Instruction Forum
Cultural Competency & Specialized Training
Not Limited
Special Population Techniques
Pathology of the Human Body
Above the 500 hour curriculum
Advanced Instruction Forum
Self-Study: Books, DVD's, Research Materials, Related Publications, & Publishing an Article
Not Limited
Research Community
Somatic Education
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Teacher Training  
Not Limited
Instructor Headquarters
Lecture or Teaching a CE Class
Not Allowed
Active Service on Massage Related Board, Task Force, or Committee, or Attending Meetings
1 hour of CE for each Meeting/Day
Keep Record of Hours & Duties
*CE Subject Matter Must be Massage Therapy Related
Excess Hours taken may NOT carry over to the next renewal period
1 hour of CE = 50 minutes of uninterrupted in-classroom learning
Keep Records of CE Hours
3 Years- CE Documentation Required at time of Renewal

Arkansas State Board of Massage Therapy
PO BOX 2019

101 East Capitol Ave., Suite 206

Little Rock, AR 72203
Phone: 501-683.1448

Fax: 501-683.1426

*Board Approved Credentialing Organizations