North Dakota Massage Therapy Regulations, Exam Practice and Application

North Dakota MBLEX Massage Exam and Certification Information

MBLEx Product

Online MBLEx Test Prep

Passing the MBLEx exam is the biggest hurdle to becoming a Licensed Massage Therapist.

Proper exam preparation is the KEY to your success and provides the most thorough test prep in the massage education industry with over 3000 question, answers, and rationales.

Online MBLEx Test Prep

More Details

North Dakota Board of Massage - View the website for rules and regulations regarding Massage Therapy in North Dakota. FAQs

Send this application and affidavit of compliance to the North Dakota Board along with the application fee of $150. Check License.

North Dakota Massage Schools - A list of massage schools in North Dakota

License Renewal Information- Renew Online -24 CE's/ 2 years

Renewal Application 43-25-09- Reciprocity Chapter 43-25-18

To apply for a license to practice Massage in the State of North Dakota, you must first obtain at least 750 hours from a school that has been approved by the North Dakota Board. You do not have to send in the results of the MBLEx with the initial application, but you can request, on your MBLEx application, for the FSMTB to send the results to the North Dakota state board. This can shorten the waiting time for your license approval.

When reviewing your curriculum for the MBLEx or the end of schooling exams, use our site to focus on the areas where you feel you could use more time to study. We have over 3500 questions regarding pathology, massage assessment, massage application, body systems, kinesiology, business standards, anatomy and physiology. With our site, you have the ability to concentrate on one category at a time or test at random. You choose to have your test contain 10 questions or 30 questions, which ever you prefer.


Web Information
List of schools Regional Massage Schools
Education Requirements 750 Hrs
Title Massage Therapist MT
Type of Credential License
State Law Test Laws, Rules & Regulations
State Practical or Written Exam

Written MBLEx

National Exam Requirement


CEU's 24/ 2 years - CE Information - Schools - Approved Course
Initial Cost of License $150
Require City License Check Local City & County Business Regulations
Renewal Fee $100/ year
Liability ins Massage Therapy Insurance Comparison
Credentialed Practitioners 726

North Dakota Board of Massage -Contact
Mandan, ND 58554
Phone: 701-667-9378



Massage Schools in North Dakota



Josef's School of Hair Design

627 NP Ave

Grand Forks, ND 58102

Fargo 701.235.9910

The Salon Professional Academy

4377 15th Ave SW

Grand Forks, ND 58103

Fargo 701.478.1772 ext. 101

Josef's School of Hair Design

2011 South Washington

Grand Forks, ND 58201

Grand Forks 701.772.2728

Williston State College

1410 University Ave.

Williston, ND 58801

Williston 701.774.4293

North Dakota Continuing Education

24 CE Credits Biennially
Requirements & Limitations
List of Choices
Renew on January 1st every 2 years from State Approval Anniversary Date
Direct Contact (Live) North Dakota Board Approved
Required for Renewal
Remaining 9 hours may be contact or noncontact hours
Professional Ethics, Boundaries, or Communication
Not Limited
Ethics Bench

Body Mechanics & Self-Care

Not Limited
Self-Care Guru
Business Practices
Not Limited
Business Mastery
Adult CPR/ First Aid Instructor-Led
Direct Contact (Live) or Online
Basic Training
Kinesiology, Anatomy, & Physiology of Human Body
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Cultural Competency & Specialized Training
Not Limited
Special Population Techniques
Pathology of the Human Body
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Self-Study: Books, DVD's, Research Materials, Related Publications, & Publishing an Article
Research Community
Somatic Education
Not Limited
Advanced Instruction Forum
Teacher Training  
Instructor Headquarters
Lecture or Teaching a CE Class
Active Service on ND Massage Related Board, Task Force, Committee, or Attending Meetings
1 hour of CE for each hour Submit Approval
Keep Record of Hours & Duties
*CE Subject Matter and Providers Must be Board Approved
Excess Hours taken do NOT carry over to the next renewal period
Keep Records of CE Hours
6 Years- Audit Selected at Random Annually- Must list CE's on Renewal Form and Submit Copies (will not return) of Certification

North Dakota Board of Massage -Contact
Mandan, ND 58554
Phone: 701-667-9378


* Board Approved